Und dann kam Mirna
Online from 28/October + 4/November 7:30pm for 24 hours

Schwarzer Block

Text Kevin Rittberger | Directed by Sebastian Nübling

Schwarzer Block by Kevin Rittberger is a play about anti-fascism as a Sisyphean project, about a 100 year history of left-wing militancy as an attempt to stop the Nazis’ reign of terror, about the contradiction between emancipation and group. At first glance, the black bloc doesn’t seem to be the most apt material for theatrical protagonists: it’s an alert system with a precarious position; it doesn’t want to be recognized, but heard instead; it doesn’t give interviews; and lively dialogue isn’t its primary form of communication. But because the bloc isn’t a bloc, but rather a self-questioning formation of resistance, in this play it pushes through to the stage, a movement in space that sets off conflicts.

Over a year and a half, Kevin Rittberger researched the history of the anti-fascist struggle in Germany, sifting through archives, conducting interviews, meeting activists and working through tortuous neo-Nazi »literature«. A polyphonic dramatic poem has emerged from this material, in which the ghosts of anti-fascist history throw their grappling hooks into the present, and the other way around. Together with around 14 actors, Sebastian Nübling searches for a »we« at a distance in the Container and on the Gorki mainstage. Together they rise to the challenge of transferring political action into the abstract theatre space.

With English subtitles

Watch the stream

Via dringeblieben.de

Premiere: 5th September 2020

Photo: Ute Langkafel

Gorki Stream Berlin Oranienplatz
Online from 11/November 7:30pm for 24 hours

Berlin Oranienplatz

Text and Direction HAKAN SAVAŞ MİCAN

The final day of summer in Berlin. Daybreak. Can, leaning on his car, smokes a cigarette, losing himself in his thoughts while staring at the Tegel prison. He’s as old as his classic car, a Mercedes 230E, built in 1982. 

Can, the child of workingclass parents from Kreuzberg, made his fortune with fake designer clothes and watches. In fact, he should be paying the price for that now. But he’s not that kind of person. The next morning, instead of going to prison for five years, Can wants to fly to Istanbul. For good.

Berlin Oranienplatz tells the story of a young man’s last day in Berlin. People and places are visited again, which Can has almost forgotten, which have almost forgotten him. The streets of Berlin, Can's parents, his ex-girlfriend, a backyard mosque, a jazz club... Can will say goodbye to the Berlin that made him what he is. But the city, like himself, has long since drifted far apart.

Over 90 years after the release of Alfred Döblin’s Berlin Alexanderplatz, Hakan Savaş Mican writes an homage to today’s Berlin in Berlin Oranienplatz. With poetic video images and live music, as in his previous production Die Nacht von Lissabon, he tells of missed opportunities and the attempt to figure out which life is the original, and which the copy of another Berlin Oranienplatz is the first part of a trilogy that continues with Kleistpark and Richardplatz.

With English subtitles

Watch the stream

Via dringeblieben.de

Premiere: 28th August 2020

Photo: Ute Langkafel

Gorki Stream Schwarzer Block
Verfügbar am 28/Oktober + 4/November 19:30 Uhr für 24h

Schwarzer Block

Text Kevin Rittberger | Regie Sebastian Nübling

 

Schwarzer Block von Kevin Rittberger ist ein Stück über Antifaschismus als Sisyphos-Projekt, über 100 Jahre Geschichte linker Militanz als Versuch, den Naziterror zu verhindern, über den Widerspruch von Emanzipation und Gruppe. Als Protagonist*in für Theater scheint der Schwarze Block nicht besonders geeignet: Er ist ein Warnsystem auf prekärem Posten und will nicht erkannt sondern gehört werden, er gibt keine Interviews und der angeregte Dialog ist nicht in erster Linie seine Kommunikationsform. Doch weil der Block kein Block ist, sondern eine sich selbst befragende Formierung von Widerstand, drängt er hier auf eine Bühne, eine Bewegung im Raum, die Konflikte aufbrechen lässt. 

Kevin Rittberger hat anderthalb Jahre lang die Geschichte des antifaschistischen Kampfes in Deutschland recherchiert, Archive gesichtet, Interviews geführt, Aktivist*innen getroffen und sich durch Neonazi-»Literatur« gequält. Aus dem Material ist ein mehrstimmiges dramatisches Gedicht entstanden, in dem die Geister der antifaschistischen Geschichte ihre Enterhaken in die Gegenwart werfen und andersrum. Mit 14 Schauspieler*innen sucht Sebastian Nübling nach dem »Wir« auf Abstand im Container und auf der Großen Bühne des Gorki. Gemeinsam stellen sie sich der Herausforderung, politische Aktion in den abstrakten Theaterraum zu übertragen.

Zum Stream

Auf dringeblieben.de

Uraufführung: 5. September 2020

Foto: Ute Langkafel

Gorki Stream Berlin Oranienplatz
Verfügbar am 11/November ab 19:30 Uhr für 24h

Berlin Oranienplatz

Text und Regie HAKAN SAVAŞ MİCAN

Der letzte Tag des Sommers in Berlin. Morgengrauen. Can, angelehnt an sein Auto, raucht eine Zigarette und beobachtet gedankenverloren die JVA Tegel. Er ist so alt wie sein Oldtimer, ein Mercedes 230E, Baujahr 1982. 

Can, das Kind von Arbeitereltern aus Kreuzberg, hat mit Fälschungen von Designerkleidung und Markenuhren das große Geld gemacht. Eigentlich müsste er jetzt den Preis dafür zahlen. Aber er ist nicht der Typ dazu und will am nächsten Morgen, statt für fünf Jahre ins Gefängnis, nach Istanbul gehen. Abhauen, für immer.

Berlin Oranienplatz erzählt den letzten Tag eines jungen Mannes in Berlin. Menschen und Orte werden noch einmal besucht, die Can fast vergessen hat, die ihn fast vergessen haben. Die Strassen Berlins, Cans Eltern, seine Ex-Freundin, eine Hinterhofmoschee, ein Jazzclub... Can wird sich von seinem Berlin verabschieden, das ihn zu dem gemacht hat, was er ist. Doch haben sich die Stadt, wie er selbst längst weit voneinander entfernt.

90 Jahre nach dem Erscheinen Alfred Döblins Berlin Alexanderplatz schreibt Hakan Savaş Mican mit Berlin Oranienplatz eine neue Geschichte über das zeitgenössische Berlin. Er erzählt,wie in seiner letzten Inszenierung Die Nacht von Lissabon, mit poetischen Videobildern und Live-Musik von verpassten Chancen und dem Versuch, herauszufinden, welches Leben das Original und welches die Kopie eines anderen ist.

Berlin Oranienplatz ist der erste Teil einer Trilogie, die mit Kleistpark und Richardplatz fortgesetzt wird.

Zum Stream

Auf dringeblieben.de

Uraufführung: 28/August 2020

Foto: Ute Langkafel