Berliner Korrespondenzen: Break-Up

Berliner Korrespondenzen: Break-Up

Episode 2

Debate featuring György Dalos, Kornél Mundruczó and Kata Csató, Moderator: Anna Faur (FreeSZFE)

Opening Speech: László Földényi

World Premiere: FreeSZFE, a collectively produced documentary short film 

In Hungarian (simultaneous interpretation into German and English provided)


An intergenerational dialogue on the political situation in Hungary is at the heart of the second episode of Break-Up, the new series of Berliner Korrespondenzen. In 2020, students occupied SZFE, the University of Theatre and Film in Budapest, to protest against its privatization and the instalment of pro-government leadership. The collectively produced documentary FreeSZFE captures intense moments during the blockade. We witness all-night impassioned debates, activist role plays and wild protest art—as well as the birth of a truly democratic counter-movement against the so-called »illiberal democracy« of the current Fidesz government. Out of these protests grew the FreeSFZE Society, dedicated to free education and the accreditation of the degrees of the boycotting students. The movement has since seen enormous solidarity among the national and international cultural scene.  

In the subsequent debate, three generations will discuss the protest movement, which is unique in recent Hungarian history, putting it into historical, cultural and political context. Like few others, the writer and historian György Dalos—who witnessed the popular uprising of 1956 as a teenager—manages to connect his eventful biography with the history of his home country. The theatre and film director Kornél Mundruzcó is not only one of the most successful contemporary Hungarian artists, but a graduate of SZFE himself. The puppeteer and teacher Kata Csató is currently president of FreeSZFE, responsible for independently teaching students and allowing them to finish their education. The moderator Anna Faur is also a part of the movement and a co-director of the documentary short film. At the beginning of the event, the renowned essayist and cultural critic László Földényi—the 2020 recipient of the Leipzig Book Award for European Understanding—will give a speech, drawing on his experience as a former professor at SZFE. He quit his job in solidarity with the protesting students.

Break-Up, the 2021-22 edition of Berliner Korrespondenzen, looks at the tensions and cracks in the social fabric of post-Covid Europe, asking how younger generations organize protest, voice discontent, take responsibility and imagine alternative futures. To really engage with the next generations’ dreams and grievances, each event combines the screening of an exclusive documentary short film by talented filmmakers with intense debates featuring high-profile thinkers, artists and activists.

Concept & design visual: Keller & Lieder

Berliner Korrespondenzen is a series from the Gorki Forum and Allianz Kulturstiftung, in collaboration with the Humboldt Universität Berlin and sponsored by the Federal Foreign Office.

Tue
20:00
Container

Auf Ungarisch mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche und Englische // In Hungarian with simultaneous interpretation into German and English 

English livestream // Hungarian livestream


Auf Ungarisch mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche und Englische // In Hungarian with simultaneous interpretation into German and English 

English livestream // Hungarian livestream

Berliner Korrespondenzen: Break-Up

Berliner Korrespondenzen: Break-Up

Episode 2

Debatte mit György Dalos, Kornél Mundruczó und Kata Csató, Moderation: Anna Faur (FreeSZFE)

Eröffnungsrede: László Földényi

Weltpremiere: FreeSZFE, kollektiv produzierter dokumentarischer Kurzfilm

Auf Ungarisch (mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche und Englische)

Ein Generationendialog zur politischen Situation Ungarns steht im Zentrum der zweiten Episode von Break-Up, der aktuellen Reihe der Berliner Korrespondenzen. 2020 besetzten Studierende die Budapester Universität für Theater- und Filmkunst SZFE und protestierten gegen deren Privatisierung und die Einsetzung einer regierungstreuen Leitung. Der kollektiv entstandene Dokumentarfilm FreeSZFE hält intensive Momente während der Blockade fest. Wir sehen nächtelange leidenschaftliche Plenumsdiskussionen, aktivistische Rollenspiele und wilde Protestkunst – und werden Zeug*innen der Geburt einer wahrhaft demokratischen Gegenbewegung zur »illiberalen Demokratie« unter der aktuellen Fidesz-Regierung. Die aus den Protesten entstandene FreeSZFE Society, die sich für freie Ausbildung und die Anerkennung von Abschlüssen der boykottierenden Studierenden einsetzt, hat seither enorme Solidarität aus der nationalen und internationalen Kulturszene erfahren.
 
Drei Generationen diskutieren anschließend über diese in der jüngeren ungarischen Geschichte einmalige Protestbewegung und verorten sie im historischen, kulturellen und politischen Kontext des Landes. Historiker und Literat György Dalos, der den Volksaufstand von 1956 als Jugendlicher erlebte, vermag wie wenig andere, seine bewegte Biografie und die Geschichte seines Landes miteinander zu verweben. Theater- und Filmregisseur Kornél Mundruczó zählt nicht nur zu den aktuell berühmtesten ungarischen Künstler*innen, sondern war selbst Student der SZFE. Puppenspielerin und Dozentin Kata Csató ist amtierende Präsidentin von FreeSZFE und maßgeblich dafür verantwortlich, dass Studierende dort mittlerweile unabhängig unterrichtet werden und ihre Abschlüsse erwerben können. Moderatorin Anna Faur ist Mitglied der Bewegung und Ko-Regisseurin des Films. Einleitend wird László Földényi – Preisträger  des Leipziger Buchpreis zur Europäischen Verständigung 2020 – in einer Rede aus seinen Erfahrungen als ehemaliger Professor der SZFE schöpfen. Aus Solidarität mit den Studierenden war er zurückgetreten.

Unter dem Titel Break-Up befasst sich die Debattenreihe Berliner Korrespondenzen in der Spielzeit 2021-22 mit Spannungen und Rissen im sozialen Gewebe des post-pandemischen Europas.  Wie organisieren jüngere Generationen Protest, wie zeigen Sie ihren Unmut, wie übernehmen sie Verantwortung – und wie stellen sie sich die Zukunft vor? Um mehr über die Träume und Zweifel der Next Generations zu erfahren kombiniert jedes Event das Screening eines dokumentarischen Kurzfilms mit intensiven Debatten zwischen hochrangigen Denker*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen. 

Konzept & Design Motiv: Keller & Lieder

Die Berliner Korrespondenzen sind eine Reihe des Gorki Forum und der Allianz Kulturstiftung, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Humboldt Universität Berlin und gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt.

Di.
20:00
Container

Auf Ungarisch mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche und Englische // In Hungarian with simultaneous interpretation into German and English 

Auch im Livestream 


Auf Ungarisch mit Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche und Englische // In Hungarian with simultaneous interpretation into German and English 

Auch im Livestream