SİLİVRİ. prison of thought

SİLİVRİ. prison of thought

Installation

Silivri, the high-security prison for men outside Istanbul, is more than a prison. It is a symbol, not only for the precarious situation of critical thinkers in authoritarian systems, but also for their fighting spirit which is nearly impossible to break. Because thinking continues behind walls as well. Numerous journalists, intellectuals and human rights activists are held in Silivri, which is known as the »largest journalist prison«. The renowned journalist Can Dündar, former editor-in-chief of the Cumhuriyet newspaper, also served time there. 

Living in exile in Berlin, Dündar curates an abstracted, nearly true-to-scale reproduction of a cell – a room 3.94 meters long by 3.71 meters wide, cramped and hostile to life. The cell, designed by Shahrzad Rahmani as a free-standing, transparent object, references more than the individual fate of the occupant. In addition to well-known prisoners such as Ahman Altan, Osman Kavala, Peter Steudtner and Deniz Yücel, countless other intellectuals were, and are, held in cells of this kind. SİLİVRİ. prison of thought confronts visitors with a political reality in which journalists, artists and human rights activists are imprisoned for their work, their art, their words, their thoughts. 

»What you see is not merely a prison cell, it is much more a miniature of Turkey, the largest journalist prison in the world« (Can Dündar).

Open from 2/June

Book a time slot

The 5. Berliner Herbstsalon 2021 – 2022 presents stronger still. exhibition – installation – talks, a project encompassing the prison no. 5 exhibition with works by Zehra Doğan, the SİLİVRİ. prison of thought and museum of small things installations, both curated by Can Dündar, and the witness exhibition with works by Timur Çelik.
stronger still was conceived on the occasion of Re:Writing the Future by Allianz Kulturstiftung.

In the series of 5. Berliner Herbstsalon 2021 – 2022.
Funded by the State of Berlin, Hauptstadtkulturfonds within the framework of Re:Writing the Future. 

An Installation by
Can Dündar

Team

Scenography

SİLİVRİ. prison of thought

SİLİVRİ. prison of thought

Installation

Silivri, das Hochsicherheitsgefängnis für Männer außerhalb von Istanbul, ist mehr als eine Haftanstalt. Es steht als Symbol für die prekäre Situation, aber auch den kaum zu brechenden Kampfgeist kritischer Denker*innen in autoritären Systemen. Denn auch hinter Mauern wird weiter gedacht. Bekannt als »größtes Journalistengefängnis« sind dort zahllose Journalisten, Intellektuelle und Menschenrechtsaktivisten inhaftiert. Auch der renommierte Journalist Can Dündar, ehemaliger Chefredakteur der Zeitung Cumhuriyet, war dort in Haft.  

Im Berliner Exil kuratiert Dündar mit SİLİVRİ. prison of thought eine abstrahierte, beinah maßstabsgetreue Nachbildung einer Zelle – ein Raum mit einer Grundfläche von 3,94 mal 3,71 Metern, beengt und lebensfeindlich. Die Zelle, von Shahrzad Rahmani entworfen als freistehendes, transparentes Objekt, verweist auf mehr als das individuelle Schicksal der Insassen. In einer Zelle dieser Art saßen und sitzen neben prominenten Gefangenen wie Ahman Altan, Osman Kavala, Peter Steudtner oder Deniz Yücel auch zahllose andere Intellektuelle. SİLİVRİ. prison of thought konfrontiert die Besucher*innen mit einer politischen Realität, in der Journalist*innen, Künstler*innen oder Menschenrechtsaktivist*innen für ihre Arbeit, für ihre Kunst, ihre Worte, ihr Denken verhaftet werden. 

»Sie sehen nicht nur eine Gefängniszelle, vielmehr ist es eine Miniatur der Türkei, des größten Journalistengefängnisses der Welt.« (Can Dündar)

Opening soon

Der 5. Berliner Herbstsalon 2021 – 2022 präsentiert das Projekt stronger still. exhibition – installation – talks mit der Ausstellung prison no. 5 mit Werken von Zehra Doğan, den Installationen SİLİVRİ. prison of thought und museum of small things, kuratiert von Can Dündar, sowie die Ausstellung witness mit Werken von Timur Çelik.
Die Eröffnung von stronger still findet im Rahmen des Festivals Re:Writing the Future der Allianz Kulturstiftung statt.

In der Reihe des 5. Berliner Herbstsalon 2021 – 2022. 
Gefördert aus Mitteln des Landes Berlin, Hauptstadtkulturfonds im Rahmen von Re:Writing the Future.

Eine Installation von
Can Dündar

Team

Szenografie